Welcome to the Danube Region of Germany/Austria!


Federal Republic of Germany




Danube kilometers   687 km / 426 miles
Locks 16 on the Main-Danube Canal / 6 on the Danube
Currency Euro
Population 82 Millionen
Area 356,910 sq. km. / 137,803 sq. mi.
Form of government Federal republic
Language German
Capital Berlin
Major Danube towns Donaueschingen, Tuttlingen, Sigmaringen, Ulm/Neu-Ulm, Donauwörth, Neuburg, Ingolstadt, Kelheim, Regensburg, Straubing, Deggendorf, Passau


Republic of Austria


Danube kilometers 350.5 km /217.48 miles
Locks 9
Currency Euro
Population 8,1 Millionen
Area 83,858 sq. km. / 32,377 sq.mi.
Form of government Parliamentary democracy
Language German, Croatian, Slovenian
Capital Vienna
Major Danube towns Engelhartszell, Linz, Grein, Melk, Dürnstein, Krems, Tulln, Vienna, Hainburg

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s